Town Council

The Town Board is comprised of four Council members and a Supervisor. Council members are elected to four-year terms and the Supervisor is elected to two-year terms.  Elections are held in odd years unless there is a vacancy. The Town Clerk keeps the minutes of the meetings and is separately elected to two-year terms. Meetings are typically held at 7:30pm on the second Tuesday of each month. Note that following each name are dates of term expiration and party affiliation.

Town Supervisor:

  • James Entwistle (2025, I) (315) 717-1399

Deputy Supervisor: 

  • Councilman Jonathan Knauth (R)

Town Council:

  • Terry Jones(2027, R) (315) 822-5342
  • Jonathan Knauth (2027, R) (315) 737-0507
  • Mark O'Sullivan (2025, D) (315) 894-6967
  • Terry McKane (2025, R) (315) 507-2136

Town Attorney

Our Town Attorney is Christopher R. Bray, Esq.

Attorney Bray may be reached at: 

Rheinhardt and Bray, P.C. 85 Otsego Street, Ilion, NY 13357


Official Newspaper

The official newspaper of the Town of Litchfield:

West Winfield STAR/Brookfield Courier

PO Box 6, West Winfield, NY 13491 

Call (315) 841-4105 for annual subscriptions (Rates as of 10/21/2021: Herkimer, Madison, Oneida, Otsego Counties: $35/year, $40/year "snowbirds"; $45/year elsewhere). 

email: for more information

Community Use of the Town Hall

The Town Hall is available for the use of Town residents for events such as meetings, birthday parties, anniversary parties, weddings, etc. Certain conditions apply. No alcohol is allowed on the premises. Call Supervisor Entwistle for more information and reservations.  A usage fee applies.  


The Town Hall is polling place for the Town of Litchfield. 

To register to vote, contact the County Board of Elections: